19. December 2018

Trust Board

Since its foundation, the Loreto Institute has been involved in education. With almost 150 schools worldwide and 5,500 staff members serving 70,000 students, Loreto has an international network of schools and colleges.

In Ireland, there are over 20 schools under Loreto trusteeship. Of these, sixteen are Voluntary Secondary schools and five are Primary/Junior schools, and two in Northern Ireland are Voluntary Grammar schools.

Loreto also shares trusteeship with others in five Community schools. Six other primary schools in Ireland and Gibraltar also retain historical links with Loreto.

The Provincial and her Council have established the Loreto Education Trust with responsibility for the trusteeship of Loreto Schools in Ireland.

Loreto Education Trust is a Company, the Members of which appoint and oversee a Board of Directors. This Board of Directors, referred to as the Loreto Trust Board, exercises the function of trusteeship.

Company Members

Ita Moynihan IBVM                                    Carmel Swords IBVM                                Mary Jo Corcoran IBVM

Brigid Tunney IBVM                                   Brede Quirke IBVM                                    Elaine Troy IBVM

Helen O’Riordan IBVM


Company Directors

Dermot McCarthy – Chairperson

Martin Boyd                                                     Liz Cogan                                                        Eileen Salmon

Deirdre Farrell                                                 Maria Hyland IBVM                                         Brian Lenehan

Frank Moran                                                    Gerardine Mullen IBVM                                  Mary Murphy

Phil Murphy IBVM                                           Liam Riordan                                                   


Company Secretary – Ann O’Donoghue IBVM


Loreto Education Trust is the body responsible for the Loreto schools and it serves the schools through the Loreto Education Centre.


Mission Statement of the Trust:

Holding in trust the gift of Mary Ward’s distinctive vision, we undertake trusteeship of the Loreto enterprise of education now and into the future.

Working out of IBVM (Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary) core values and facilitating their contemporary expression within Loreto Schools, we exercise the function of trusteeship through:
•on-going dialogue with the wider Loreto Community
•two-way communication with the schools
•support of the Loreto Network of Schools
•leadership development


Trust Accounts for year ending August 2013 – Loreto Education Trust Accounts 2013

Trust Accounts for year ending August 2014 – Loreto Education Trust Accounts 2014

Trust Accounts for year ending August 2015 – Loreto Education Trust Accounts  2015

Trust Accounts for year ending August 2016 – Loreto Education Trust Accounts 2016

Trust Accounts for year ending August 2017 – Loreto Education Trust Accounts 2017